Veritas: What to the Slave is the Fourth of July?

Embed This Player

Download: H.264/AAC mp4 file Creative Commons License

Tell us about your experience with this online video, click here.

Description

A discussion of the meaning of Frederick Douglas' Fourth of July Speech.

Robert Maynard was one of many individuals with the Vermont Humanities Council who hosted events commemorating the Fourth of July Speech by escaped slave and abolitionist Frederick Douglas on July 5, 1852 in Rochester, New York. Listen to this show to learn about why this speech is still very relevant to today.

Order Now!

Summary

Airtimes

1 Friday July 7, 2017 at 5:25 PM
2 Monday July 10, 2017 at 7:00 PM
3 Tuesday July 11, 2017 at 2:00 PM
4 Tuesday July 18, 2017 at 2:00 PM
5 Thursday July 20, 2017 at 11:30 PM
6 Friday July 21, 2017 at 4:30 AM
7 Friday July 21, 2017 at 10:30 AM
8 Tuesday July 25, 2017 at 2:00 PM
9 Saturday July 29, 2017 at 4:30 PM
10 Tuesday August 1, 2017 at 2:00 PM
11 Tuesday August 8, 2017 at 2:00 PM
12 Tuesday August 15, 2017 at 2:00 PM

Featured Story

Town Meeting TV Primary 2020 Election Coverage Kick Off

This election season is looking pretty different isn’t it? One great thing is that more and more people are showing interest and investment in the political process and it is likely we will see some large turnout at the ‘polls’ this August 11 and November 3 - even if the polls are voting by mail!

Read more...

More News from the Center for Media and Democracy