Senator Patrick Leahy: Unlocking Consumer Choice and Wireless Competition Act

Embed This Player

Download: H.264/AAC mp4 file Creative Commons License

Tell us about your experience with this online video, click here.

Description

Senator Leahy discusses the benefits consumers will soon see under his legislation, The Unlocking Consumer Choice and Wireless Competition Act, which cleared Congress Friday and within days will reach the President’s desk. Leahy’s bill allows consumers to “unlock” their used cell phones to connect to their preferred wireless networks, and makes it easier for organizations such as WHBW to expand programs to help domestic violence victims -- for instance by providing them with used cell phones on which they can summon 9-1-1 emergency help. Burlington Police Chief Mike Schirling also in attendance.

NOTE: Leahy at this news conference offers his first scheduled general comments on his breakthrough in negotiations over his USA FREEDOM Act, to end NSA’s dragnet collection of Americans’ electronic communications.
 

Order Now!

Summary

Airtimes

1 Tuesday July 29, 2014 at 6:00 PM
2 Wednesday July 30, 2014 at 6:30 PM
3 Thursday July 31, 2014 at 2:45 PM
4 Friday August 1, 2014 at 3:00 PM
5 Sunday August 3, 2014 at 7:15 PM
6 Thursday August 7, 2014 at 6:00 PM
7 Friday August 8, 2014 at 4:35 PM
8 Saturday August 9, 2014 at 3:00 PM
9 Sunday August 10, 2014 at 2:40 PM
10 Tuesday August 12, 2014 at 4:05 PM

Worker

Mike Cohen

Featured Story

Tune Into Vermont's General Election Forums 2020

Tune in to Town Meeting TV to learn more about the candidates who are on the November ballot.  For more Election programs search "elections" and visit our YouTube channel to stream Live Events.

Read more...

More News from the Center for Media and Democracy